Re: Coupling Radio antennae

Marc

Thanks for all the responses.  I sort of guessed that, trying to avoid a communication loss by doubling my antenna, might cause problems beyond my expertise. 

That I why I invoked my Canard Aviators’ card. 

Good move.

OK.  I will not try and couple the two antennae, but, at least, I have a backup in the event that one goes bad.  What will I do, if I lose my antenna due to something weird?

I have been using a KX99, panel-mounted, hand-held for 33 years.  With the winglet antennae, I can obtain good communication for greater than 50 miles.  For that reason, I will be able to use my rubber ducky antenna in the event of antenna loss.  I just have to remember to make it accessible.  I will do that today.

Thanks again for the rapid responses.  This is a great group.

Marc Borom

Sent: Saturday, June 29, 2019 9:58 AM
To: canard-aviators@...
Subject: Re: [c-a] Coupling Radio antennae

In case you still want to try something, this phasing harness should combine the antennas.   The distance between the antennas is a factor, but at ~28', might be at an optimal 1/4 wave distance.   The VSWR would change if one antenna were shorted or opened, but could easily be checked with a meter.

https://amphenol-antennas.com/datasheets/MMU2xxx.pdf

For someone doing an around the world flight, increasing fore and aft coverage might be desired.  OTOH, the tower might not be able to hear you sporadically when you're in the pattern.

Regards,
Mike Satchell

On 6/29/2019 10:02 AM, Phillip Johnson cozy.cgple@... [canard-aviators] wrote:

Agreed Tim,

BTW if you use any form of splitter/combiner you would be transmitting/receiving on two antenna’s.  There would be interaction between the two antenna’s resulting in a horrible azimuthal beam pattern.  Additionally the impedance matching would only be good with both antenna’s connected. I.e you have just doubled the probability of failure.  Kind of like having twin engines on an aircraft.

Phillip Johnson